On publishing

In this day of instant gratification publishing, traditional journals, who take their time to cultivate each issue by working with their authors and painstakingly formatting their content are starting to seem somewhat old fashioned.  Nonetheless, I find their vetting process useful in collecting valuable content targeted at specific audiences.

I recently had an idea that I wanted to publish in a C++ trade magazine, any of them would do.  I pitched my idea to Dr. Dobb’s, a rather prestigious computer programming publication and Overload Online, the free journal of ACCU, a community of programmers interested in things C and C++ related.  Overload was interested in my idea and complimented me by reviewing a draft but they noted that another author, Martin Moene, had presented a very similar idea, and encouraged me to write a follow on article.  I ultimately decided against writing the follow on article and, at first, I was crestfallen at being scooped.  Martin’s idea and mine are nearly identical in spirit if a bit different in execution.  But, more important than the individuals involved are the ideas and I’m glad these ideas are now firmly in the public domain where developers can benefit from them regardless of who presented them first.  (I’m laughing at myself a little in writing this last sentence but I resonate with the sentiment.)

So it is with a great deal of satisfaction at both my personal triumph over my own ego and at the honor of being part of this discovery that I present to you my original draft of this technique.

c++-register-access

I owe a debt of thanks to Scott Meyers who honored me by giving me feedback on an early draft and for teaching his course on Effective C++ in Embedded Systems which inspired me to look harder for a solution to the problem this technique aims to solve.

2 Responses

  1. i can’t handle your recent rate of blogging, please slow down.

    • lol

Comments are closed.

