Why should I read “The Count of Monte Cristo”?

If the word, “epic,” wasn’t careworn and haggard from its recent binge of overindulgence across the interwebs and beyond, I would readily apply it to this tale of revenge. Dumas paints an enormous mural, each section breathtaking.

I’m not a vengeful person so I don’t readily relate to the motivating force behind the arc of the plot but Dumas draws me in anyhow with the beautiful imagery, the deep characters and the fantastic circumstances. He brings you along a journey where only you, he and the count are the ones who really know what’s going on.

I had a hard time keeping track of who was who through most of the beginning of the book. Luckily, Dumas doesn’t introduce too numerous a cast of characters. If you get confused or frustrated by not knowing who is who in the beginning, soldier on anyhow.

